Everyone knows that you can add multiple profiles to a single account on Netflix. Various pricing and options allow for simultaneous or separate use of profiles. Either way, profiles on Netflix rule! Plus, they’re incredibly easy to create.

You are watching: How to delete main profile on netflix


However, profile deletion isn’t a frequently talked-about subject with Netflix. It is a seldom-used feature and by far a less apparent one. Here is how to delete a profile from your Netflix account using a smartphone, a tablet, or a computer.

How to Delete a Netflix Profile from an iOS or Android Device

We are used to doing everything on a little screen. Whether you are watching your favorite TV show using the Netflix app or accessing settings for ease of use, you might want to know more about profile deletion on your phone/tablet.

iOS

Removing a profile using the iOS application is actually incredibly simple. Whereas you can’t set parental controls or make major edits to your account, you can delete a profile using the app. Open the Netflix app and follow these steps to remove a profile on your iPhone or iPad:

Tap ‘Edit’ in the upper right-hand corner

From the main screen that appears when you first open Netflix, there is an option to edit. Tap on it and pencil icons will appear on your profiles.


*

Tap ‘Delete’

Toward the bottom of the screen, you will see the Delete Profile option. Tap it, confirm, and there you have it!


*


Tap Manage Profiles.

*

Enter your credentials and select Sign In. This will take you to your Netflix profile.

*

Click on ‘Manage Profiles’

Do not select the profile that you want to delete. Instead, go to Manage Profiles.

*

Click on ‘Delete Profile’

To delete the profile in question, go to the DELETE PROFILE option at the bottom of the page. Confirm, and you’ll have successfully deleted the Netflix profile.

*

Click on ‘Delete Profile’

Tap the down arrow until ‘Delete Profile’ is highlighted and click it.

*

In the next screen, select Delete Profile and confirm.


Additional FAQ

Are the profile and the corresponding information permanently deleted?

Yes, if you happen to delete a profile on Netflix, all the information that pertains to it is deleted. This includes favorite shows, preferences, etc. You can contact Netflix and ask if they could reinstate your deleted profile, but they might not be able to do so.

However, if you delete your account and do not cancel deletion over the course of the next 10 months, all your information, including your profiles, will be permanently deleted. You can request this information to be deleted sooner by requesting it by email at .

It is not letting me delete one of my Netflix profiles, what is happening?

When you have created your Netflix account, you may have noticed that a profile was created alongside it. This is your account’s primary profile that can’t be deleted. You can rename it, change the language on it, edit maturity ratings, and make other tweaks, but you will never be able to delete it. Our advice is, rename it and change its settings instead.

If the main profile is the only one remaining on your account, and you want to delete it entirely, you are going to have to delete your account. Note that you do not have to delete separate profiles in order to completely remove it.

To delete your account, you’re going to have to use the desktop version of a browser. Either way, the principle is the same.

To do this, first, you need to cancel your current membership. Navigate to the profile icon on Netflix.com, located in the upper-right corner of the screen. Select Account from the drop-down menu. Then, select Cancel Membership. Confirm by selecting Finish Cancellation. Leave it there for an additional 10 months, and your account will be deleted. If you are in a hurry, as mentioned earlier, send a request to .

This will make sure that every single one of your profiles is permanently deleted.

Will profile deletion mess up my account?

The only thing that deleting a profile will do is, well, delete that profile. Yes, this does include all the personalization and personal settings. However, no profile deletion can mess up your Netflix account. This is why there’s a single main profile that can not be deleted using the above-mentioned methods. The only way to delete it is through the account deletion process.

So, you can go ahead and remove any profiles that you no longer need without worry. You will be able to create a new profile at any point during your Netflix usage.

How many profiles can I add?

You can add up to five profiles on Netflix, provided that you are using a device that was made in 2013 or more recently. This is how many profiles a Netflix account can operate with. Still, depending on your subscription, you’ll be able to simultaneously use Netflix on more screens per profile.

With the Basic subscription, you can watch Netflix on one screen per profile. On the Standard subscription, the number of different screens is two. Finally, on the Premium subscription, you’re allowed to watch Netflix on four different screens per profile.

Deleting a Netflix Profile

Netflix profile deletion is a pretty simple and straightforward thing. Still, even though you can add a new profile using the iOS app, you won’t be able to remove profiles on it. The only way to do it on iOS is using the desktop version of the Netflix website. On Android devices, PCs, Macs, streaming devices, and smart TVs, profile removal is entirely possible and very easy to do.

See more: How To Dress Like A 50S Housewife Dress, 1950S Housewife Dress

Have you managed to remove the profile that you wanted to? Did you find it simple and straightforward? Do you, perhaps, have any additional questions regarding account and profile deletion on Netflix? Please, feel free to fire away in the comments section below. You can join the discussion, add any questions you might have, or provide our community with some awesome tips that we might’ve missed.